Clash Between Groups Mars Voting Process in Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha Constituency
Clash Between Groups Mars Voting Process in Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha Constituency

Srinagar: Four individuals sustained injuries in a clash between two groups during the voting process at the Shahpur polling station in the Poonch district of the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir. Police reported that the altercation occurred for unknown reasons, resulting in injuries to Shahzad Ahmed (20), Kumari Salima Bi (18), Zahoor Din (40), and Mohammad Aslam (22), all residents of Shahpur. They were promptly taken to the District Hospital Poonch for medical treatment.

Despite the incident at Bijbehara and Shahpur, the election officer assured that voting proceeded smoothly across the entire Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency, comprising 18 assembly constituencies spread over five districts: Kulgam, Shopian, Anantnag, Poonch, and Rajouri. By 3 pm, over 44.41 percent of the 18.36 lakh eligible voters in the constituency had cast their ballots.

The recent delimitation in Jammu and Kashmir led to the removal of Pulwama district and the Shopian assembly constituency from the South Kashmir Lok Sabha seat. Instead, seven assembly constituencies from Rajouri and Poonch were incorporated into the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency.

PDP President Mehbooba Mufti is contesting from the Anantnag-Rajouri seat, facing competition from 20 candidates, including National Conference leader Mian Altaf Ahmed and Apni Party's Zafar Iqbal Manhas.

Voting commenced at 7 am and concluded at 6 pm in the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency. In the previous elections, the voter turnout in the old Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency was approximately nine percent in 2019 and around 29 percent in 2014. The inclusion of Poonch and Rajouri regions in the constituency is anticipated to significantly boost the voter turnout compared to previous elections.

BJP Candidate's Convoy Attacked During Voting in Jhargram Lok Sabha Seat

Thousands of Sadhus and Sannyasis March Through Kolkata in "Virat Sant Swabhimaan Yatra" Protest Against Mamata Govt

Uttarakhand Government Deploys Yatra Magistrates for Badrinath and Kedarnath




Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News