Congress leader Khuraijam Ratankumar resigns ahead of Manipur Assembly elections

The Congress party in Manipur has suffered a blow ahead of the Assembly elections, as a senior politician has resigned from the party. After being denied of a party ticket, Congress politician Khuraijam Ratankumar Singh, who had been running for the Khurai seat in the Imphal East district, resigned from the party on Thursday.

He also stated his intention to run for office with a national party in the 2018 elections. In the 2019 Manipur assembly elections, the Congress party has established a pre-poll alliance with five other parties and resolved to back a single candidate in the Khurai constituency. The Khurai Block Congress Committee (BCC) was dissolved following Ratankumar's departure from the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee.

In the presence of leaders from political parties, MPCC president N Loken Singh declared a pre-poll coalition with the CPI, CPI(M), Revolutionary Socialist Party, Janata Dal (S), and Forward Block on Thursday. He further stated that in the Khurai seat, Congress will back their common candidate (CPI candidate), but in the Kakching seat, the party will have a friendly contest.
On February 27 and March 3, Manipur will hold elections in two stages.

International arrivals to Vietnam up 11.2 pc in January

Sidhu's challenge on Majithia's challenge over assembly elections

Parineeti Chopra wreaked havoc in a red pant suit


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -