Congress likely to finalize nominees for Rajya Sabha biennial elections today

New Delhi: The Congress is expected to finalise names for the Rajya Sabha biennial elections In today's meeting, with former party head Rahul Gandhi, who is in London, connecting by video conference, and a number of veterans vying to re-enter the Upper House.

Rajasthan and Chattishgarh are projected to give the Congress eight Rajya Sabha seats. P Chidambaram, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Anand Sharma, Vivek Tankha, Ajay Maken, Rajeev Shukla, Mukul Wasnik, and Pramod Tiwari are said to be in the running, despite the fact that the party is considering supporting local leaders and minorities following its Chintan Shivir in Udaipur, Rajasthan.

Sonia Gandhi, the interim president of the Congress, will preside over the meeting, which will be attended by the general secretaries. Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, who is currently in London, is expected to participate in the conference through video conferencing, the source said.

The Congress has decided to run for three Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, albeit it may be short on numbers in one of them and would rely on non-BJP MLAs for support.

In Rajasthan, a three-point criterion has been implemented, under which no MLA will be considered for Rajya Sabha nominations while minorities and local candidates are given preference.

Replace 'Bharat Jodo' with 'Congress Jodo Yatra...', Narottam Mishra advised Rahul Gandhi"

'Lucknow' lost due to slow innings of Rahul or was there some other reason?

'Kamal Nath was born with a golden spoon but never even distributed salt', Narottam Mishra attacked Congress


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -