Deodhar Trophy 2018: India ‘B’ beats Karnataka in the final


In the final of the Deodhar Trophy, India ‘B’ lifts the cup after a superlative batting effort lead by young Shreyas Iyer and Manoj Tiwary help India 'B' to beat Karnataka by six wickets in Dharamsala on Thursday. Karnataka were unstable at 64 runs for the loss of 4 wickets at one stage before Ravikumar Samarth scored magnificent 107 runs off 120 balls to take them to a respectable total of 279 runs for 8 wickets. In reply, India B cruised to the total in 48.2 overs with as many as four batsmen hitting half-centuries.

Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad 58 runs off 47 balls and Abhimanyu Easwaran scored 69 runs off 82 balls provided the initial drift with an 84-run opening stand. The final flourish came from Shreyas Iyer scored 61 of 69 balls and veteran Manoj Tiwary with magnificent 59 off 51 balls. They added 83 runs in only 14.1 overs. India B paced their chase smartly as Easwaran dropped anchor at one end while Gaikwad attacked, taking full advantage of the Powerplay overs. He hit seven fours and two sixes. Easwaran, someone who is rated highly for his impressive technique was ready to play the second fiddle during the opening stand. He only started to open up after Gaikwad and Hanuma Vihari (21) were back in the pavilion.


Brief Scores: Karnataka 279/8 (Ravikuamr Samarth 107 off 120 balls, Ruturaj CM Gautham 76 off 84, Khaleel Ahmed 3/49, Umesh Yadsav 2/48) India B 281/4 in 48.2 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 69 off 82 balls, Ruturaj Gaikwad 58 off 47 balls, Manoj Tiwary 58 no off 51 balls, Shreyas Iyer 61 off 69 balls). India B won by six wickets.


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -