EC bans exit polls from Nov 12 to Dec 7 in 5 poll-bound States

Nov 10 2018 09:15 AM
EC bans exit polls from Nov 12 to Dec 7 in 5 poll-bound States

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Friday imposed a near month-long ban on conducting exit polls starting November 12 in the five poll-bound states Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana.

A notification issued by the poll board said between 7 am of November 12 and 5.30 pm of December 7, holding  any exit poll and publishing or publicising the result of the exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or in any other manner shall be banned.

Worth mention here Chhattisgarh is going to polls in two phases on November 12 and 20 while Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram have elections on November 28.

On the other hand Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls on December 7. EC banned exit polls from the time the poll begins till half-an-hour after the polling ends under the Representation of People Act, 1951.

The poll board had proposed that there should be a ban on publication and broadcast of the results of opinion polls starting from the date of notification of elections till the end of the last phase of polls to Lok Sabha and state Assemblies. The proposal is pending with the side of government.

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED