Israel Govt bans entry from seven African countries due to new Covid variant

Jerusalem : Following the detection of a new Covid-19 variant in South Africa, Israel has placed a ban on travellers from seven African countries.

According to sources, Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett and Health Minister Nitzan Horwitz decided on Thursday to list South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, and Eswatini as "red nations" in response to reports of the significantly mutated version known as B.1.1529.

Foreigners from these countries will not be allowed to enter Israel, according to a statement from the Prime Minister's office. Even if they are completely vaccinated, Israeli citizens returning home from these countries will be required to reside in a designated quarantine motel for seven days. After two negative PCR tests, they will be discharged. According to the announcement, travellers who refuse to get tested would be held in quarantine for 12 days.

South African scientists have detected a novel COVID-19 variation and are investigating its consequences.

Covid booster key factor to ensure freedom in travelling: Australian expert

India, Nepal to recognise Covid vaccine certification

New Zealand sets up testing strategy under Covid protection framework


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -