Kamal Nath to Contest from Chhindwara: Congress Unveils Key Candidates for MP and CG elections
Kamal Nath to Contest from Chhindwara: Congress Unveils Key Candidates for MP and CG elections

Bhopal: On Sunday, the Congress party revealed its initial list of 144 candidates for the forthcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections. Among the notable candidates, the state unit president and former chief minister, Kamal Nath, will be contesting from the Chhindwara constituency. Another significant candidate is Jaivardhan Singh, the son of former chief minister Digvijaya Singh, who will be running for the Raghigath seat. He previously served as a minister in the last Kamal Nath-led government, which crumbled in March 2021 when 22 Congress MLAs resigned and switched allegiances to the BJP under the leadership of Jyotiraditya Scindia.


This announcement follows a meeting of the party's Central Election Committee, which convened at the AICC office in New Delhi to finalize the candidate selection. Kamal Nath had previously stated that the Congress would unveil its list of candidates for the assembly polls after the conclusion of 'Pitru Paksha,' a period during which Hindus pay homage to their ancestors. As Sunday marked the conclusion of Pitru Paksha, it coincided with the auspicious beginning of the Navratri festival.

In contrast, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had already declared candidates for 136 out of the 230 assembly constituencies in the state. The Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections are scheduled to take place on November 17, with the vote count slated for December 3. Additionally, the Congress party released its initial list of 30 candidates for the Chhattisgarh assembly elections and 55 candidates for the Telangana assembly polls, which are set to occur next month.


In Chhattisgarh, the party has fielded its chief minister, Bhupesh Baghel, for the Patan assembly constituency and the deputy chief minister, T S Singh Deo, for the Ambikapur assembly seat. In Telangana, the Congress has chosen its state unit chief, Anumala Revanth Reddy, to contest from the Kodangal assembly seat, and the CLP leader, Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu, for the Madhira-SC seat. Chhattisgarh's assembly polls will take place in two phases on November 7 and 17, while the Telangana assembly elections are scheduled for November 30.

Cricket World Cup 2023:India Outclasses Pakistan with 7-Wicket Win

Mirwaiz Umar Farooq Calls for International Intervention in Israel-Palestine Conflict

India Shines in ODI World Cup Showdown, Pakistan Falters with 191 Runs

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group