Messi beats Ronaldo and Lewandowski to win Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi, who plays for Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain, has been named the winner of the Ballon d'Or 2021. He has won the trophy for a record 7th time. No one has won the award so far. Messi, 34, has won the award, beating Portugal's star footballer Cristiano Ronaldo and Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski.

Barcelona's support this year: The award is also special for Messi as he had to leave Spanish club Barcelona this year, which he had been associated with for the past 15 years. After which he arrived at the French club Paris Saint-Germain. Messi has won the title a record 6 times in 2019. The award show was cancelled in 2020 due to covid. It was resumed this year after a gap of one year.

What is The Ballon d'Or?: According to reports, the Ballon d'Or awards are given every year by the French football magazine Ballon d'Or. The award is given to the best performer in a year from the club and the national team. Stanley Mathews was first awarded the award in 1956 and has been awarded every year since then. Awards were also started to be given to women footballers from 2018. The 65th edition was held this year.

The players who won the Ballon d'Or the most times
Lionel Messi: 7
Cristiano Ronaldo: 5
Johan Krayff: 3
Michael Platini: 3
Marco van Basten: 3
French Bekenbauer: 2
Ronaldo Nazario: 2
Alfredo de Stefano: 2
Kevin Keegan: 2
Carl Henz: 2

Messi won the seventh title in 13 years: Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021*) won the award 7 times and Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017) 5 times in the last 13 years. Overall, Messi and Ronaldo shared the title 12 times in the last 13 years. The award was won by Croatia and Real Madrid's Luca Modrich in 2018.



Ind Vs NZ: Team India could not take 1 wicket in 52 balls

Rehbar praises FC Bengaluru United's talent development endeavour

Real Madrid defeats Sevilla thanks to a late Vinicius strike

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -