NASCAR Hall of Fame Class is now on the Wall with its new Crew
NASCAR Hall of Fame Class is now on the Wall with its new Crew

New Delhi:- Last Wednesday, the 2024 NASCAR Hall of Fame ranking was announced. This year's vote included drivers such as Donnie Allison, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Neil Bonnett, Harry Gant, Jimmie Johnson and Ricky Rudd, as well as team leader Chad Knaus and numerous drivers, owners and team managers. and other mechanics.

Of those named on the ballot, three will be chosen. The 57-member Hall of Fame voting panel chose Donnie Allison, and it's no surprise that the first-round nominees are Jimmie Johnson and Chad Knaus. However, controversy erupted when it was revealed that Jimmie Johnson was not the unanimous choice, receiving 53 of the panel's 57 votes.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame opened in 2010 with a class of five members. Included in this class, of course, are seven-time champions Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt, as well as NASCAR founder Bill France, Sr., and his son, Bill France, Jr. Since opening, including 2024, The Hall of Fame has introduced 64 people. So far, no choice has been agreed upon. Not Richard Petty. Not Dale Earnhardt. Why was it so controversial that Jimmie Johnson didn't win unanimous support?

Also Read:- Aston and Mclaren to run up the Pirelli tyres that may dropout from F1

It's a matter of competition, of course. As noted above, the first category inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame was in 2010. 25 people have been nominated for this first category. Twenty-five of the best and most influential people in NASCAR history. Petty, Allison, Waltrip, Earnhardt, Pearson, France (father and son), Jarrett (father and son).

The best of the best. In fact, everyone named in first class is inducted into the Hall of Fame. So given the sheer number of nominations and the quality of the contestants, it's no surprise that Petty and Earnhardt disagree. Who is more deserving, Petty or Pearson, Waltrip or Earnhardt? The board ultimately decided on the two seven-time champions, although there may be some differences in NASCAR's vast roster of big names.

Compare the 2010 decision with the 2024 decision. Jimmie Johnson is a seven-time Cup Series champion. Jimmie Johnson is the only driver in history to have won 5 consecutive championships (2 more than Cale Yarborough). Jimmie Johnson had 83 Cup Series wins. Jimmie Johnson has won all NASCAR Crown Jewels at least twice (Dayton 500, Coca Cola 600, Southern 500, Brickyard 400). Jimmie Johnson accomplished all of this in 18 years, arguably NASCAR's most competitive era.

Also Read:- F1 commentator to presume Lance Stroll’s exit from F1 soon

Who among the nominees is more deserving than Jimmie Johnson? No other driver nominated for 2024 has won the championship, let alone 7. Jimmie Johnson has more than doubled the next nearest driver's total wins, Carl Edwards (28). Jimmie Johnson is truly in his own class.

Who on the list of nominees is more deserving than Jimmie Johnson? The answer is no. Yes, Jimmie Johnson is now a Hall of Famer and voted first. However, there is no explanation for the lack of a unanimous decision. While it did not cause serious damage, last Wednesday's vote raised questions about the reliability of voting committee members and Hall of Fame panelists.

Zech Yoder is a local resident, attorney at Adler Attorneys in Noblesville, and a lifelong racing fan.

Also Read:- F-16 Training Hits Language Barrier: Ukrainian Pilots' English Skills Stall Western Efforts

NASCAR Hall of Fame opens classes in 2024 without drivers and former members for the time being, as new members and drivers will be featured. 

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News