Navratri: Nine colors of Navratri with their significance

We all are excited for Navratri, The festival of Joy, Dance, and Purity. It is one of India’s most cherished Festivals. It is celebrated with great enthusiasm in India and is regarded as the start of the Hindu New Year in India.

The nine-day festival of Navratri dedicated to Mother Goddess Durga is just around the corner. During these nine days, devotees keep a fast after performing the Ghatasthapana or Kalash Sthapana on the first day, i.e. Pratipada. The Shardiya Navratri in the Hindu month of Ashwin is the most important and significant of all Navratris (Magha, Chaitra and Ashadha).  Navratri is an auspicious festival, several people fast during the nine days.  Do you know there is the significance of color, In Navratri it is said that some color hold certain importance for a particular day in Navratri. Here is the list of nine colors to wear on 9 Days. You can also wear these color on Garba nights and enjoy the festivals.


Day 1, Yellow: Yellow is the color of happiness. The first day of Navratri is the first incarnation of Devi – Shailaputri - daughter of the mountains. Therefore you should wear yellow on first day.
Day 2 , Green: Green color symbolizes Growth and nature.  The second day of Navratri is the second is of Brahmacharani the female seeking spiritual knowledge.

Day 3, Grey: The third day is of Devi is Chandraghanta. She wears a gray-colored half-moon on her forehead.  Grey Symbolizes the Goddess strength.

Day 4, Orange: The fourth incarnation of Goddess Durga is Kushmanda. She is powerful enough to live in the Sun.  Therefore, the color orange symbolizes her happiness and energy.
Day 5, White: The fifth incarnation of Devi is Skandamata – mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, the war god. We all know that white is a color of peace.  It symbolizes peace, purity, and prayer in devotees’ hearts when they worship her. Hence, the color white.
Day 6, Red: Red the color of blood, it  symbolizes action and vigor. The sixth incarnation of Devi is Katyayani. She is a fierce form of Goddess Durga believed to be formed out of the anger of the Gods. 
Day 7, Blue: The seventh day is of Goddess Kali or Kalratri. She is a destructive form of the Goddess. Her powerful energy is embodied in the color blue therefore Blue is the color of day 7.
Day 8, Pink: The eighth incarnation of Devi is Mahagauri. The color pink symbolizes hope and freshness of perspective.
Day 9, Purple: The ninth incarnation of Devi is Siddhidatri, The color purple represents ambition and power.

Navratri 2022: Aloo Fritters or Pakoda Recipe for Navrati Fast

Rush in Himachal Pradesh temples with the onset of Navratri

Navratri Quotes


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -