New Zealand: One-way quarantine-free travel to be extended
New Zealand: One-way quarantine-free travel to be extended

WELLINGTON, N.Y.: A top official announced on Friday that one-way quarantine-free travel to New Zealand will be extended to include Nauru, Tuvalu, and American Samoa.

In a statement, Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Aupito William Sio said that eligible travellers from Nauru, Tuvalu, and American Samoa will be able to enter New Zealand without entering managed isolation and quarantine facilities or self-isolation on arrival starting at 11.59 p.m. on February 27. This is in recognition of the fact that these countries have no Covid-19 community cases.

"People who have a right to reside in New Zealand and those who are covered by border restrictions will be able to travel at first. There will be no requirement for a pre-departure test, but non-New Zealand citizens will need to get vaccinated."

Travellers who transit another quarantine-free country (such as Samoa or Vanuatu) will be able to enter New Zealand without having to be isolated or quarantined. Passengers passing via a non-quarantine-free country (such as Australia or Fiji) will face the same entry and testing restrictions as other travellers from that country, he said.

The New Zealand government has revealed a proposal for a phased border opening, which will allow many more people to reconnect and come to New Zealand from around the world, according to Sio.

China criticises Quad, saying it provokes confrontation

Ukraine ratifies open-skies agreement with the European Union

Most Covid restrictions to be lifted by March 20 in Germany

रिलेटेड टॉपिक्स
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group