One Kilometer-long 'Tiranga Yatra' taken out in Himachal Pradesh

SHIMLA: To commemorate the 'Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav,' marking the 75th anniversary of India's independence,  one-kilometer-long Tiranga Yatra was taken out from Palampur's Shaheed Captain Vikram Batra Maidan to Shaheed Smriti Sthal in Himachal Pradesh's Kangra district.

On Sunday, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Vipin Singh Parmar launched the yatra.

The yatra was organised under the joint auspices of Bharatiya Jan Sewa Santha, Insaf Sanstha, Geeta Peeth Sanstha, and Om Mangalam Sanstha, and was presided over by Rajya Sabha member Indu Goswami.  In the 1.025 metre long march, more than 1,000 students from 24 educational institutions took part.

Apart from the students, local people also passionately participated in the yatra. People on the way showered flowers at the procession at various places. On this occasion, tributes were also given to the statues of martyrs and liberation fighters.

Speaker Parmar said that he is honoured and proud to be a part of the illustrious Tiranga Yatra. He expressed his gratitude to the four organisations for planning the yatra. He gave the District Collector of Kangra instructions to submit a request for the yatra to be listed in the Limca Book of Records.

Notably,  Palampur is the land of heroes along with Dev Bhoomi. Parmar said that many heroes including martyrs Major Som Nath Sharma, Captain Vikram Batra, Captain Saurav Kalia, Major Sudhir Walia and many others attained martyrdom.

He called upon teachers to apprise students about the sacrifices made by the freedom fighters, martyrs and great men of the country so that they get to know about the history of their country and  generate a feeling of patriotism.

India celebrates 76th Independence Day; PM Modi set to address nation

President Murmu highlights India's success story in address to nation

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar greets nation on Independence Day


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
News Track Live
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group