Suspension of 12 MPs may lead to opposition boycott of entire session

New Delhi: After a bill to repeal three agricultural laws without discussion was enacted in both houses of Parliament and 12 opposition MPs were suspended from the Upper House, Congress and 13 other opposition parties are likely to boycott the whole winter session. These 12 MPs will be unable to participate in the session, which will run through December 23. On Tuesday morning, opposition groups will consider their next move, which may include a boycott of the winter session as well as anti-government rallies.

The Trinamool Congress will not attend the Congress-led gathering (TMC). Derek O'Brien, a TMC Rajya Sabha MP, said the party had called a separate meeting to discuss the next move. TMC's Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri are among the 12 MPs who have been suspended. Elamaram Karim of the CPM, Chhaya Verma of the Congress, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Binay Vishwam of the CPI, and Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai of the Shiv Sena have all been suspended.

Two opposition leaders, according to media sources, said that boycotting the remaining session of Parliament was an option, but that it would require agreement from all parties. The strategy will also be dependent on whether opposition parties will be able to use Parliament to seek a law guaranteeing a minimum support price (MSP) for crops. 'If we don't get an opportunity to address the law and related concerns on MSP, we'll have no choice but to boycott the session,' said a Congress leader who requested anonymity.

Kangana Ranaut receives death threats

Know about Twitter's new CEO

33 lakh people became unemployed in just 3 months





- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -