Pema Khandu to be Sworn in as Arunachal CM for Third Term; Amit Shah, JP Nadda to Attend
Pema Khandu to be Sworn in as Arunachal CM for Third Term; Amit Shah, JP Nadda to Attend

ITANAGAR, Arunachal Pradesh: Pema Khandu will take the oath as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the third consecutive term on Thursday. The swearing-in ceremony is set to take place at the DK State Convention Centre in Itanagar at around 11:00 am.

Key Attendees and Security Measures

The event will be attended by prominent leaders including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, among others. Tight security arrangements have been put in place to ensure the smooth conduct of the ceremony.

Public Enthusiasm

Ahead of the event, Assam Minister Ashok Singhal expressed the high level of enthusiasm among the public as the BJP forms the government once again in the state. "People are very excited. There is enthusiasm among everyone in the state. Once again, the BJP is forming a government in Arunachal under the leadership of Pema Khandu. He will take the oath at 11 am today. The Chief Ministers of Assam, Tripura, and Sikkim will be there. Our responsibility is increasing because people are trusting us more," Singhal said.

Pema Khandu's Re-election

Pema Khandu was re-elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday, paving the way for his swearing-in as Chief Minister for the third term. Khandu first became Chief Minister in 2016. Following his re-election, Arunachal Pradesh Governor Lieutenant General KT Parnaik (retd.) invited Khandu to form the government.

Arrival of Amit Shah and JP Nadda

Amit Shah and JP Nadda arrived in Itanagar on Wednesday night to attend the swearing-in ceremony. They were welcomed with great enthusiasm by party workers at the Itanagar airport. The BJP Arunachal Pradesh posted on social media showing the excitement of party workers at the airport. "The josh of karyakartas and wave of excitement filled Donyi Polo Airport, Itanagar, as Home Minister Amit Shah and Health & Family Welfare Minister cum National President JP Nadda arrived for their maiden visit to the state post the historic victory," it said.

Pre-Swearing-in Meeting

On Wednesday, Pema Khandu, along with Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Chowna Mein, MLA, and Tapir Gao, MP (Lok Sabha), met with the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, Lieutenant General KT Parnaik (retd.), at Raj Bhavan, Itanagar. During the meeting, Khandu briefed the Governor about the unanimous election of 46 members of the Arunachal Pradesh State Legislative Assembly from the Bharatiya Janata Party, who elected him as their leader. Under the provisions of Article 164 (1) of the Constitution of India, the Governor invited Khandu to form the government and take the oath as Chief Minister on June 13 at 11 am at Dorjee Khandu State Convention Centre, Itanagar.

Election Results

In the recent elections held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election, the BJP won 46 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly. Ten seats were already won by the BJP unopposed before the polls.

Read More:

Puri Jagannath Temple's Four Doors Reopened Today, Odisha CM Majhi Offer Prayers

Modi Government 3.0 Includes 5 Ministers from Minority Communities, but No Muslims

Kuwait Building Fire Claims 49 Lives, Live Updates: Jaishankar Speaks with Counterpart

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News