Ramanujan Prize 2020 recipient, Carolina Araujo from Brazil
Ramanujan Prize 2020 recipient, Carolina Araujo from Brazil

Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians 2020 was awarded to Dr. Carolina Araujo, Mathematician from the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in a virtual ceremony on 9th December 2020. The award has been distributed every year to honour a researcher less than 45 years of age from a developing country funded by the Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India in association with ICTP (International Centre for Theoretical Physics), and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).

This year award was given for her outstanding work in algebraic geometry. The recipient work area focuses on birational geometry, which aims to classify and describe the structure of algebraic varieties. Dr Carolina Araujo, the Vice President of the Committee for Women in Mathematics at the International Mathematical Union, is the first non-Indian women mathematician to receive this prize and will be a role model for all women around the world. 

Prof Ashutosh Sharma has extended an invitation to Dr Araujo to India to encourage women mathematicians and inspire them by her own example. During the award ceremony, Dr Araujo spoke about algebraic geometry, including birational geometry and foliations in a talk titled 'Algebraic Varieties with Positive Tangent Bundles'. The award has been distributed every year in fond memory of Late Srinivasa Ramanujan, a genius in pure mathematics who was essentially self-taught and made spectacular contributions to elliptic functions, continued fractions, infinite series, and analytical theory of numbers.

Ministry of Jal Shakthi invites entries for National Water Awards 2020

SII CEO Adar Poonawala selected for 'Asian of the Year' award

Maharashtra Teacher 'Global Prize Winner' Felicitated By State Government


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News