Sports Ministry constitutes selection committee for sports awards

Aug 01 2020 02:32 PM
Sports Ministry constitutes selection committee for sports awards

The Ministry of Sports and Indian Youth Affairs has set up a selection committee, which will select the right candidate for the sports awards given this year. This selection committee will select the right players and coaches for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Dronacharya Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyanchand Award, Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Award and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Award, and then give them these awards based on the recommendation of this committee.

The ministry of sports has appointed the retired Justice Mukundakam Sharma of the Supreme Court. Other members of this committee include many celebrities associated with the sports space. Former Indian player Virender Sehwag, Indian hockey player Sardar Singh, table tennis player Monalisa Barua Mehta, para-athlete Deepa Malik, boxer Venkatesan Devarajan have been included in this.

Apart from this, sports journalists Alok Sinha and Neeru Bhatia have also been included in this committee. Officers of the Ministry of Sports have also been included, which includes SAI Director General Shri Sandeep Pradhan, LS Singh and Joint Secretary of Sports Development Rajesh Rajagopalan. Apart from this, two Dronacharya Awardees will also be included by the chairperson. The names of all the candidates for this year's Sports Awards have already been sent by different sports associations. With this, many officials will be involved in this.

National Sports Awards program delayed due to covid19

Boxer Vikas Krishnan calls traditional practice inadequate to win Olympic medal

Haj House poses a threat to women wrestlers, SAI cancelled camp

Popular Stories