Padma Awards are announced to these female athletes of India

Sep 12 2019 11:29 AM
Padma Awards are announced to these female athletes of India

New Delhi: The names of 9 athletes have been recommended for the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri by the Sports Ministry. In which all the names are of the female athletes who have elevated the name of the country in the field of sports. Let us tell you, the 6-time world champion boxer MC Mary Kom has been named by the Ministry of Home Affairs for the Padma Vibhushan award.

FIFA World Cup Qualifier: India performed brilliantly, stopped Qatar with draw

Mary Kom has been awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2013 and the Padma Shri in 2006. If she is awarded the Padma Vibhushan Award, she will become the fourth player to receive the honour after Chess player Vishwanathan Anand in 2007, Sachin Tendulkar, the God of Cricket in 2008 and mountaineer Sir Edmund Hillary. World champion badminton star PV Sindhu's name has been sent for Padma Bhushan. This is India's third-highest honour. In the year 2017, Sindhu was nominated for Padma Bhushan, but her name was not selected in the final list. Let us tell you that in the year 2015, he was awarded the Padma Shri award.

Olympics Hockey Qualifiers: India and Russia to compete today

At the same time, the names of seven other women players have been proposed by the Sports Ministry for the Padma Shri Award. These include wrestling player Vinesh Phogat, table tennis star Manika Batra, T20 women's cricket team captain Harmanpreet Kaur, hockey captain Rani Rampal, former shooter Suma Shirur and mountain twins sisters Tashi and Nungshi Malik.

World Athletics Championships: Hima Das could not qualify for the championship

© 2019 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED