Telangana Election: Congress Alleges Violation of Code by BRS MLC K Kavitha
Telangana Election: Congress Alleges Violation of Code by BRS MLC K Kavitha

Hyderabad, Telangana: G Niranjan, a prominent leader of the Telangana Congress, filed a formal complaint on Thursday against BRS MLC K Kavitha, accusing her of breaching the model code of conduct by allegedly soliciting votes on the day of polling.

Niranjan said, "Kavita's actions directly contravene the Election Code by urging citizens to vote for BRS. Her public appeal at the DAV School polling station in Banjara Hills is a clear violation of the established Code."

The Congress leader conveyed his concerns to Vikas Raj, the State Chief Electoral Officer, urging swift action in response to the alleged misconduct.

K Kavitha exercised her voting rights in the Telangana assembly polls on Thursday morning and made an appeal to the 'urban voters' to actively participate in the electoral process.

She urged, "Especially to the young men and women, I earnestly implore you to come out and vote. Today isn't just a day off; it's a day to actively engage and fortify our democratic process."

Earlier today, various leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, and others, encouraged the people of Telangana to cast their votes in significant numbers for the elections involving 119 assembly seats.

A staggering 3.17 crore voters are participating in the polls, determining the fate of 2290 candidates. The polling process is underway at 35,655 polling stations established across the state.

For the first time in Telangana, home voting options have been extended to citizens above 80 years of age and individuals with disabilities. Approximately 27,600 voters have been registered to avail this service on the polling day.

Moreover, about 1,000 voters have enlisted for the Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System, as confirmed by a poll official.

Reflecting on past elections, in the inaugural 2014 assembly polls for the newly formed state of Telangana, the Congress secured 25.20 per cent of the votes while BRS (then TRS) obtained 34 per cent in the region.

In the subsequent 2018 elections, BRS (then Telangana Rashtra Samithi) emerged victorious with 88 out of 119 seats and held 47.4 per cent of the vote share. The Congress trailed behind with only 19 seats.

The ongoing elections continue to draw attention amid allegations and a drive for active citizen participation, marking a crucial moment in Telangana's political landscape.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2023: Azharuddin and Allu Arjun among High-Profile Voters

रिलेटेड टॉपिक्स
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group