Putin declares two states of Ukraine 'independent,' Russia to help separatists by sending troops

Moscow: Russian President Vladimir Putin has recognized the two cities of Donetsk and Luhansk, separated from eastern Ukraine, as an independent. He announced this in his address to the nation on Monday. Russian President Vladimir Putin, in his address, described Ukraine as a US colony, saying Ukraine's rule is a "puppet" in the hands of the US.

Russia's decision has also raised fears of a confrontation between western countries of Russia's invasion of Ukraine. Putin made the announcement after the president's Security Council meeting and has opened the way for Russia to send military forces and weapons to a conflict between Moscow-backed rebels and Ukrainian forces. He announced that two separatist cities in eastern Ukraine, Donetsk and Luhansk, would be recognized as independent. President Putin has also signed an order regarding the recognition, as well as a call for a peace campaign to be carried out by sending troops to Donetsk and Luhansk.

Earlier, Ukraine's separatist leaders, through a statement broadcast on TV, had urged Russia's president to recognize the independence of separatist regions and send military aid to protect them from the ongoing Ukrainian army attacks against them by signing friendship treaties.

Russia signs decrees recognising two 'independent republics' in Ukraine

Thailand extends Covid-19 alert level amid growing new infections

Pakistan to get J-10C combat jets from China

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -