Winter session: Five new members take oath in Rajya Sabha
Winter session: Five new members take oath in Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: On Monday, five new members of the Rajya Sabha took their oaths in the Rajya Sabha as the winter session of Parliament began. The DMK has three members, while the Congress and the Trinamool Congress each have one (TMC).

All of the newly elected members of Parliament took their oaths in their native languages. Rajni Patil, who was elected on a Congress platform in Maharashtra, took the oath in Marathi. Luizinho Falerio, who was elected in West Bengal on the Trinamool Congress ticket, took his oath in Konkani as he is from Goa.

The three members of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) took their oaths in Tamil. Kanimozhi N.V.N. Somu, M. Mohamed Abdulla, and K.R.N. Rajesh Kumar are their names.

The House also paid respect to Oscar Fernandes, who was a sitting member when he died. Former Members of Parliament such as K.B. Shanappa, Chandan Mitra, Hari Singh Nalwa, Monika Das Abani Roy, and others who died between sessions were remembered.

The House paid its respects to the departed souls and conducted a two-minute silence as a symbol of respect. The chairman asked the Secretary-General to send condolences to the families of those who had died. The Rajya Sabha was adjourned for an hour in honour of Congress MP Oscar Fernandes, who died lately of illness.

Parliament session: Opposition refused to accept PM Modi's appeal

Govt extends PM Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana till March 2022, says PM

Rahul Gandhi to attend Parliament today, focus on MSP


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News