5 batsmen who never won Orange cap: IPL 2018

Mar 13 2018 02:35 PM
5 batsmen who never won Orange cap: IPL 2018


For rewarding the highest run-getter in the Indian Premier League, the Orange Cap was established. Only a few would know that this award got familiarized after one week of commencement of the inaugural IPL edition. The batsman with most runs at the completion of the tournament wins the Orange Cap award at the end of the season. Here is the list of most surprising names that are yet to win an Orange Cap award.

5. Shikhar Dhawan  

The Indian opening batsman, Shikhar Dhawan has been a part of the extravagant T20 league since its inception. Considering the fact, that he has played all the matches in a season on about seven occasions, it is quite hard to believe a consistent player like him hasn't yet won the orange cap in ten years of IPL.


4. Gautam Gambhir

Opening the batting for Kolkata Knight Riders for years, the 36-year-old majorly fulfilled the role of a sheet anchor, generally holding his own wicket for others to express themselves, which perhaps might be one of the factors for him not scoring an IPL century in 148 matches.


3. AB de Villers

Mr. 360 got his personal best shot in IPL 2016, where he scored 687 runs, only to remain third on the list. The season was a complete run-fest where the South African was blanked out by David Warner (848 runs) and the orange cap winner Virat Kohli ( 973 runs).


2. Rohit Sharma

The Hitman, in the recent past, often gave up his opening position to accommodate other openers at the top and dropped himself at 3 or 4. In addition to that, he has never been consistent throughout an IPL season, thereby going past the 500-run mark only once.


1. Suresh Raina

The 31-year-old is the only batsman to score 350+ runs in each edition of the annual extravaganza. The only thing that he has not managed to bring home is the orange cap.


© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED