Bhupen Bora appointed as the new president of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee

Guwahati: The AICC (All India Congress Committee) appointed Bhupen Bora as APCC (Assam Pradesh Congress Committee) president with immediate effect. The AICC also appointed three others –Rana Goswami, Kamakhya Prasad Purkayastha and Jakir Hussain Sikdar – as working presidents. Bora took charge as the party chief when a section of Congress leaders is in a spree to quit the party after the party's debacle in the 2021 Assembly election in the State. Reviving the party is a challenging task for Bora. Now the party looks like a pale shadow of its former self.

Born on October 30, 1970, in Lakhimpur, Bora had his Master's in Political Science from Dibrugarh University. He made it to Dispur twice from Bihpuria LAC (Legislative Assembly Constituency) – in 2006 and 2011. Bora was also the president of the APYC (Assam Pradesh Youth Congress). In 1998 he became an APCC secretary.

Nameirakpam Loken Singh has been appointed as interim president of the Manipur unit of Congress following the resignation of party leader Govindas Konthoujam as the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president a few days ago. Former Union Minister and Manipur Congress in charge Bhakta Charan Das recently visited the state and met MLAs, following which Singh was appointed as interim president, people aware of the development said. Singh, who is an MLA, will hold the position till a full-time state unit president is appointed, they said.


Amit Shah says this while launching Green Sohra Tree Plantation Campaign

Tejashwi Yadav speaks on wastage of corona vaccine

Rajasthan: Pilot supporters speak during Congress meeting: Sachin to be made CM


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -