BJP Secures Dominant Victory in Madhya Pradesh Elections, CM Chouhan Denies Anti-Incumbency
BJP Secures Dominant Victory in Madhya Pradesh Elections, CM Chouhan Denies Anti-Incumbency

Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Chouhan dismissed any suggestion of an anti-incumbency wave in the state as the BJP appeared set for a sweeping victory. He expressed gratitude to the people as the party headed towards reclaiming power after a brief Congress rule in 2018.

With the Election Commission's latest trends favoring the BJP on 161 seats, as opposed to Congress' 66 seats and BSP's two, along with one for the Bharat Adivasi Party, Chouhan emphasized, "There's no anti-incumbency; rather, it's a pro-incumbency sentiment. I extend my thanks to the people of MP and assure them that we will fulfill our commitments."

In attributing his triumph to the 'Ladli Behnas' (daughters) and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Chouhan pledged to propel Madhya Pradesh towards progress and development.

The electoral battle for the 230-seat Madhya Pradesh Assembly primarily pitted the BJP against the Congress, which lost power in 2020 partly due to Jyotiraditya Scindia's defection to the BJP.

As Chouhan eyes a potential fourth term, jubilation enveloped the BJP's state headquarters in Bhopal. Union Minister Scindia, actively participating in the celebrations, credited the success to the welfare initiatives of the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led government.

Confident in the BJP's prospects, Scindia remarked, "The welfare programs of our 'double engine' government garnered public support in Madhya Pradesh. I'm certain of their backing, ensuring our government's formation with a clear majority."

Taking a dig at the Congress, Scindia ridiculed their premature celebrations, highlighting the significance of schemes like the 'Ladli Behna Yojana' and crediting Chouhan for its success.

Chouhan's emphasis on schemes like the 'Ladli Behna Yojana,' transferring Rs 1250 monthly to eligible women from impoverished families, played a pivotal role in the electoral campaign.

While the BJP adopted a collective leadership approach without naming a specific CM candidate, the Congress projected former CM Kamal Nath as their chief ministerial face.

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2023: Live Updates and Results

BJP Strengthens Hold: Set to Govern 12 States Independently; Congress Shrinks to 3

BJP's Samaram Wins Pindwara Abu Seat in Rajasthan Assembly Elections

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group