Cambodia reverts travel bans on African countries affected by the Omicron variant

Cambodia has lifted a travel ban on 10 African nations that had been in place for nearly a week owing to the Omicron variant of Covid-19, according to Health Minister Mam Bunheng.

The Ministry of Health (MoH) decided to lift the ban on travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Angola, and Zambia with Prime Minister Hun Sen's approval, he said, adding that the removal took effect immediately on Sunday, according to reports.

Travelers from the ten countries, as well as those who have visited the countries in the last two weeks, must do a Covid-19 rapid test when they arrive in Cambodia, he said. "If the result is negative, they must go into quarantine for seven days and then take a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on the sixth day," the Health Minister added. Fully vaccinated travellers must present a medical document stating that they tested negative for Covid-19 within 72 hours of arriving in Cambodia, he added, adding that unvaccinated passengers will be subjected to a 14-day quarantine.

The U.N. Secretary-General Antonio Guterres expressed concern on Monday over the isolation of southern African countries as a result of the Omicron variant travel restrictions.

WHO expresses displeasure over some countries continuing to block direct flight from SA

Russian FM emphasises good ties with India Ahead of today's 2+2 format meet

Japan PM calls for strengthening defence posture


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -