Chandigarh Mayoral Poll: BJP wins by 1 vote
Chandigarh Mayoral Poll: BJP wins by 1 vote

Chandigarh: The BJP won the Chandigarh mayoral elecltion by a margin of a single vote as it got a total of 15 votes while the Aam Aadmi Party secured 14 votes. Effectively, BJP candidate Anup Gupta will become Chandigarh's new mayor.

Congress and  Shiromani Akali Dal refrained from voting.

As the BJP and AAP competed for the key position, voting for the Chandigarh mayoral election got underway at 11 am on Tuesday at the municipal corporation's Assembly chamber. There are 14 councillors between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

This time, the Aam Aadmi Party nominated Jasveer Singh Laddi as its candidate for mayor, while the BJP nominated Anup Gupta.

The Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP engaged in a lot of discussion about the mayoral race last time as well, but Sarabjit Kaur of the BJP won by a narrow margin of one vote.

"Kirron Kher, a Chandigarh-born member of parliament, is also entitled to cast a ballot in this election. Kirron Kher's vote, which can be pivotal for the BJP if both parties receive an identical number of votes, along with Shiromani Akali Dal's councillor and one vote, "Prem Garg, the president of AAP Chandigarh, said.

BJP's National Executive Meet: Social & economic resolution passed today

BJP alleges scams in Delhi govt, demands Kejriwal's resignation

Karnataka: BJP plans two ‘rath yatras’ in the state ahead of polls


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News