Close Contest Between BJP and Congress in Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections
Close Contest Between BJP and Congress in Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections

RAIPUR:Results from the 2023 Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh depict a tight competition between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the incumbent Congress, as per the latest updates released by the Elections Commission of India.

According to the Election Commission's data, the BJP holds a lead in 43 seats, while the Congress is leading in 39 seats out of the state's total 90. The halfway mark to secure a majority in the Chhattisgarh assembly stands at 46 seats.

Further details from the ECI reveal that the Hamar Raj Party, representing Adivasi interests, and the Communist Party of India are each leading in one seat, specifically Khujji and Konta, respectively.

A total of 1,181 candidates vied for a position in the 90-member assembly.

The results of the assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana are seen as a precursor to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections scheduled for 2024.

Chhattisgarh conducted its elections in two phases, with the first phase encompassing 20 constituencies on November 7, featuring 223 candidates. The remaining constituencies held elections during the second phase on November 17, with 958 candidates in the fray.

The collective voter turnout for both phases stood at 76.31 percent, slightly lower compared to the 2018 polls. In detail, the voter turnout was 78 percent during the first phase and 75.88 percent during the second phase.

The primary contenders in the Chhattisgarh Elections 2023 include the BJP, Congress, Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC), and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Additionally, regional parties like the Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP), Hamar Raj Party (HRP), and Left parties are also actively participating in the electoral contest.

BJP's Lead in 3 States Spurs INDIA Bloc Meeting on December 6 in Delhi

BJP Dominates Madhya Pradesh Polls; Leads in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan: Updates

Rajasthan Assembly Election: Who Won It For Congress, BJP, BSP?

रिलेटेड टॉपिक्स
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group