Congress Announced candidates list for 8 seats in Telangana

Mar 16 2019 04:41 PM
Congress Announced candidates list for 8 seats in Telangana

The Congress has announced candidates for eight out of the 17 Lok Sabha seats in the state. The party has fielded state Congress working president and previous MLA A Revanth Reddy from Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat. On Friday night All India Congress Committee announced the list of the eight candidates.

also read: Bihar BJP shortlisted candidates for LS poll for 17 constituencies

Other than A Revanth Reddy, the other candidates in the state list are former MP Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad-ST), A Chandra Sekhar (Peddapalle-SC), Ponnam Prabhakar (Karimnagar), K Madan Mohan Rao (Zahirabad), Gali Anil Kumar (Medak), Konda Vishweshwar Reddy (Chevella) and former MP Porika Balram Naik (Mahabubabad-ST). While Revanth Reddy and Prabhakar lost the December Assembly Elections, Vishweshwar Reddy is the sitting Lok Sabha MP from Chevella who changed over to the Congress from the TRS ahead of the state elections.

On Saturday, Revanth Reddy commenced his campaign after visiting a temple here. The Congress in Telangana is confronting a crisis of sorts following the defection of six of its MLAs. This has reduced the party's strength in the Assembly from 19 to 13. According to the source, Congress MLA from LB Nagar in Hyderabad D Sudheer Reddy has reportedly decided to switch over to the ruling TRS, but an announcement to the effect is yet to be made.

also read: 'Poora ka poora informal sector uda diya' Rahul Gandhi attacks PM Modi


© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED