EAM Jaishankar Appreciates Gujarat for Securing Rajya Sabha Seats
EAM Jaishankar Appreciates Gujarat for Securing Rajya Sabha Seats

AHMEDABAD: Dr. S Jaishankar, the External Affairs Minister, expressed his gratitude to the people of Gujarat for granting him another opportunity to serve as a member of the Rajya Sabha.

Following his uncontested election to the upper house of Parliament, Jaishankar took to Twitter to extend his appreciation to the members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly for their support. He acknowledged the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi for entrusting him with the responsibility to serve the nation.

For Jaishankar, a former career diplomat who entered politics and joined the Union Cabinet in 2019, this signifies his second term in the Rajya Sabha, representing the BJP-ruled state.

The withdrawal of nomination forms occurred on the final date of the process, Monday, resulting in the elimination of the need for polling on July 24 due to the absence of opposing candidates.

According to officials, three candidates from the BJP, including External Affairs Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, were elected uncontested to the Rajya Sabha.

Kesridevsinh Jhala and Babubhai Desai, both BJP candidates, will accompany Jaishankar in the Upper House of Parliament for a six-year term.

Returning Officer Reeta Mehta confirmed the uncontested victories of the three candidates on July 17 through a declaration on the National eVidhan Application website.

The opposition Congress made the decision not to field candidates for the three Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat due to an insufficient number of MLAs in the 182-member Assembly.

Jaishankar submitted his nomination form on July 10, while Jhala and Desai filed theirs on July 12.

The BJP chose not to renominate two sitting Rajya Sabha MPs from Gujarat, Jugalji Thakor and Dinesh Anavadiya. Instead, Jhala and Desai were nominated for the upcoming term.

On July 24, the Election Commission of India revealed the election timetable for 10 Rajya Sabha seats in the states of Goa, Gujarat, and West Bengal. This significant announcement sets the stage for a momentous democratic event, marking a pivotal day for the political landscapes of these regions. As the anticipation builds, citizens eagerly prepare to exercise their right to vote and shape the course of their respective states.

Goa Assembly descends into chaos as opposition protests disrupt proceedings

TN CM MK Stalin On Opposition Meet In Bangalore

Rangasamy to attend NDA meeting in New Delhi tomorrow

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group