European countries to tighten travel rules over new Covid variant concerns

BRUSSELS: Due to worries about the new Covid-19 version, a number of European countries have imposed travel restrictions from southern Africa. According to sources, the B.1.1.529 variety, which was initially discovered in South Africa, is more transmissible and has been categorised as a "Variant of Concern" by the World Health Organization.

The European Union (EU) has said that it intends to use the "emergency brake" to halt air travel from the southern African region in order to prevent the spread of the virus in Europe. The Irish government has imposed new limits on travel to and from seven southern African nations, in accordance with EU recommendations. The seven countries, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, were chosen based on the identification of new variant cases or geographical closeness to countries where cases have been found, according to the government. The Department of Foreign Affairs in Ireland has updated its travel advisories to "avoid non-essential travel" to certain nations, according to the statement.

Even if they have been fully vaccinated against Covid-19, have recovered from the disease in the last six months, or have tested negative within 72 hours of their departure, Irish individuals returning home from these countries will be subjected to stringent home quarantine, according to the statement.

WTO postpones 12th Ministerial Meet due to Omicron covid variant spread

Moon Jae-in to preside over Covid response meeting amid ongoing spike

Covid booster shots a matter of urgency in Australia: Scott Morrison

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -