Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

After voting in the Rajya Sabha, Mr. Harivansh Narayan Singh has been elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

On his victory, PM Narendra Modi walked up to Singh and congratulated him for the same.

PM Modi also tweeted, “ I congratulate Harivansh Ji on behalf of the whole house. He has been blessed with the talent of writing. He was also a favorite of former PM Chandra Shekhar Ji.”


Harivansh Narayan Singh is an NDA candidate who won with 125 votes, while his opponent, BK Hariprasad, a UPA candidate earned 105 votes.


Shri Harivansh Narayan Singh was born in Uttar Pradesh, on the 30th of June, 1956.

He completed his studies from the Banaras Hindu University. He is a member of the Janata Dal and lives in Ranchi.


Before the elections, Harivansh Narayan Singh was confident enough about his victory and said, “We are confident of our win and election result is a foregone conclusion.”


Both AAP and YSR congress had decided to boycott the elections.

V. Vijayasai Reddy, the MP of YSR Congress asserted, “We have decided to abstain from voting for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections. Both Congress and BJP have not fulfilled the promises made to Andhra Pradesh.”

Also, read:

"A leader who worked with a statesman like Chandra Shekhar Ji": PM Modi on Harivansh Narayan Singh win

India vs England test series: Kohli says the only thing that matters is the victory of the team

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group