India's Squad Unveiled: Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul Return for Asia Cup 2023
India's Squad Unveiled: Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul Return for Asia Cup 2023

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has unveiled the formidable 17-member roster for the forthcoming Asia Cup 2023, showcasing its strategic preparation. The eagerly anticipated squad includes Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul, pivotal figures in India's blueprint for the upcoming ODI World Cup in 2023, all making their return to the 50-over format. Additionally, the promising talents of Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna have earned their spots in the Asia Cup 2023 ODI ensemble. Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been designated as the deputy skipper under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

BCCI Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar provided insights during a press briefing on Monday, stating, "Shreyas Iyer is fully fit, while KL Rahul is dealing with a minor concern. Hence, Sanju is accompanying the team. We anticipate Rahul's swift recovery, as he is progressing well."

Asia Cup 2023 Indian Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul ,Ishan Kishan ,Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain) ,Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

The 16th iteration of the Asia Cup is scheduled to commence on August 30, 2023, culminating in the final showdown on September 17, 2023. Co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, the 2023 edition marks a significant departure as it adopts a hybrid format for the first time. This year's tournament will witness four matches hosted in Pakistan, with the remaining nine contests taking place in Sri Lanka.

The tournament will showcase a total of six competing teams, encompassing the five full members of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Nepal secured the sixth spot in the 2023 Asia Cup following their victory in the ACC Men's Premier Cup 2023.

The participating teams have been distributed into two groups, each comprising three teams. In accordance with the format, the tournament will feature a total of 13 matches, encompassing six league matches and six Super 4 matches, all leading up to the grand finale on September 17.

Dhawan Picks Kohli, Rohit, and Others for His Dream ODI XI in World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket Accepts Thirimanne's International Retirement

Pakistan Pacer Wahab Riaz Retires from International Cricket"

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News