IPL 2018: Dinesh Karthik crowned new captain of KKR
IPL 2018: Dinesh Karthik crowned new captain of KKR


IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders finally revealed who their captain will be for the upcoming Indian Premier League season. KKR handed the club to Dinesh Karthik ahead of the likes of dependable batsmen Robin Uthappa and Aussies hard-hitter batsmen Chris Lynn who were among the favorites to lead the team in 2018. KKR's social media handles had been running a poll for a while now and Lynn was the fan favourite to take on the mantle from Gautam Gambhir, who left for Delhi Daredevils during the auction in January.

Wicket keeper batsmen Karthik will have the services of Uthappa, who is the most experienced among the Knights. He has played 56 games for the Knights and scored 1806 runs from them at an average of 32.25. He has also hit 14 fifties during his time with the Kolkata franchise and finished with the Orange Cap in 2014, when KKR won their second IPL title. Uthappa slammed 660 runs from 15 matches at an average of 46.73 that year. In the process, he created a T20 record for having scored 40+ scores in 8 consecutive games.

Overall, Robbie aka Robin Uthappa has played 149 IPL matches and scored 3735 runs and 22 half-centuries -- making him the most experienced among his teammates in the KKR side.

KKR squad: Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Chris Lynn, Dinesh Karthik, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Mitchell Johnson, Javon Searless


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News