Karnataka issues new guidelines for int’l passengers

Bengaluru: On Monday, the Karnataka government issued new guidelines for international arrivals. Travelers arriving from the at-risk 12 countries will be subjected to RT-PCR tests, according to a Department of Health circular. The travellers will be required to stay at home for seven days and will be subjected to retesting on the eighth day. International travellers can only leave airports with a negative test report, said Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai.

In the case of the new strain, the World Health Organization (WHO) rules will be followed. Precautionary steps have also been proposed by the Prime Minister and the Union Health Minister, which will be implemented. He claimed that Karnataka had taken preventative measures much earlier.

If overseas newcomers test positive, the sample will be forwarded to genome sequencing and they will be admitted to a different isolation unit, according to standards. If the genomic sequencing for B.1.1.529 is negative, they will be discharged at the discretion of the treating physician (Omicron variant).

On arrival, a random sample of 5 percent of travellers with negative reports from countries that are not on the list of nations at risk will be subjected to RT-PCR testing. Their samples will be forwarded to genome sequencing if they test positive.

All European nations, including the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong, and Israel, are on the list of countries where travellers must follow additional precautions upon arrival.

Karnataka CM Bommai calls meeting on Covid situation

''Omicron'' variant6 times more dangerous, find out what the symptoms are!

Heavily mutated Omicron variant puts Companies on alert, It's a variant of concern




- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -