IPL 2018: KKR defeat DD by 71 runs

Apr 17 2018 10:26 AM
IPL 2018: KKR defeat DD by 71 runs


The Kolkata Knight Riders clinched their second win of IPL 2018. When they defeated the Delhi Daredevils by 71 runs at the Eden Gardens on Monday night. KKR were powered to 200-9 by Nitish Rana's bold half-century and Andre Russell's sensational blitz. Later on, though the Delhi Daredevils got ahead, and stayed ahead, of the required rate for most part of their chase, they kept losing wickets and were eventually bowled out for 129 in 14.2 overs.

Delhi Daredevils were reduced to 24-3 in the first three overs, after which Rishabh Pant and Glenn Maxwell made 43 runs and 47 runs respectively. But there was little else of note in the visitors innings. Andre Russell made his second significant contribution of this season when he made 41 runs batting at number six. The West Indian all-rounder, who was given a reprieve on 7 when Jason Roy put down a difficult catch in the outfield, scored almost all his runs off one particular bowler. He took a liking for Mohammed Shami's pace and destroyed the bowler's figures, scoring 40 runs off 9 balls against him. Off the six sixes he hit Shami for, two were among the biggest recorded so far this season.

Stats of DD vs KKR

1. Andre Russell’s strike-rate against Mohammed Shami in this match was 444.44.

2. KKR collapsed from 178-4 after 200-9 in the final 2.5 overs of their innings.

Brief Scores: Kolkata Knight Riders 200-9 (Nitish Rana 59, Andre Russell 41, Robin Uthappa 35, Rahul Tewatia 3-18) beat Delhi Daredevils 129 in 14.2 overs (Rishabh Pant 43, Glenn Maxwell 47, Sunil Narine 3-18, Kuldeep Yadav 3-32) by 71 runs.

Man of the Match: Nitish Rana, for his 35-ball 59, which contained 5 fours & 4 sixes.

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED