Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar pays tribute to 203rd anniversary of Koregaon Bhima war

Pune: Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar and some other leaders have paid tributes to Jai Pillar yesterday. Yesterday was the 203rd anniversary of the Koregaon Bhima War. In this way, State Home Minister Anil Deshmukh and Energy Minister Nitin Raut arrived at the memorial to pay homage. This monument is located on the Pune-Ahmednagar road near the village of Perne. Meanwhile, the deprived Bahujan Aghadi president Prakash Ambedkar also arrived to pay homage. During this, Ajit Pawar appealed to people to pay tribute from their homes in view of the Corona epidemic.

Every year the anniversary of the war is celebrated here and during this time millions of people reach here to pay homage. This war took place on 1 January 1818 between the British East India Company and the Peshwa faction of the Maratha Sultanate. It is being told that due to Covid-19 this year, the District Administration and Bhima Koregaon Vijay Pillar Shaurya Din Coordination Committee had appealed to the people not to come to the memorial. It was said that people should pay homage from their homes. The District Administration had also imposed Section 144. There were restrictions on the arrival of outsiders in Perne and other nearby villages, although the heads of organizations and political parties and social organizations were allowed to pay tribute to the memorial.

In November 2020, Bombay High Court allowed Varvara Rao, an accused in Bhima Koregaon case, to be admitted to Nanavati Hospital for 15 days treatment at the expense of the state government. Recently, the Maharashtra government has submitted a medical report to the Bombay High Court, in which it has been said that the accused and the jailed poet social activist Varavara Rao is fully conscious and is aware of things.

Also Read-

Former minister Sunita Lakshmareddy has been appointed as the chairperson of the Women's Commission

Liquor sales in the last four days were around Rs 759 crore

30 TRS MLAs to hold talks with BJP: BJP President Bundy Sanjay

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -