Meet Prem Singh Tamang, Sikkim's Chief Minister for Second Consecutive Term
Meet Prem Singh Tamang, Sikkim's Chief Minister for Second Consecutive Term

Prem Singh Tamang, the leader of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), took oath as the Chief Minister of Sikkim for a second consecutive term on Monday. The swearing-in ceremony was held at Paljor Stadium, where Governor Lakshman Prasad Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Tamang and his Council of Ministers.

SKM secured a landslide victory in the recent assembly polls, winning 31 out of the 32 seats, effectively sweeping the Himalayan state. The opposition Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) managed to secure just one seat.

Describing the victory as a record, Tamang expressed gratitude to the electorate and the party workers who contributed to the win. "In 5 years, we will fulfil all the announcements that we made at the time of the elections. I would like to thank all my workers, they worked hard. I would also like to thank the public. This is the most peaceful election of Sikkim, this is a record," he said.

Tamang himself won from the Rhenock Assembly seat, defeating SDF's Som Nath Poudyal by over 7,396 votes. The polling for 32 assembly seats in Sikkim took place on April 19 in the first phase, concurrently with the Lok Sabha elections.

This is the third time Sikkim has seen such a decisive victory by a political party, following similar results in 1989 by Sikkim Sangram Parishad and in 2009 by SDF.

In the 2019 assembly elections, SKM had won 17 seats, while SDF secured 15 out of the 32 seats. SKM had initially formed an alliance with the BJP-led NDA before the 2019 assembly elections but later contested the polls independently.

Earlier, Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister of India for his third successive term on Sunday at an impressive ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Narendra Modi and other members of his team of ministers.

Notably, PM Modi is the second Indian leader to win a third term after founding Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

Read More

Narendra Modi 'Shepherded India's Remarkable Transformation': Singapore PM Lawrence Wong

Congress Criticizes PM Modi Over Delayed Fund Release for Farmers

PM Modi Signs Rs 20,000Crore Under PM Kisan Nidhi Scheme, Reaffirms Commitment to Farmers

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News