Mizoram: Zoram People's Movement Wins Tuichang, in Early Trends
Mizoram: Zoram People's Movement Wins Tuichang, in Early Trends

The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) marked a significant win in Tuichang constituency by defeating the incumbent Mizo National Front (MNF) MLA, as confirmed by the Election Commission of India.

According to the ECI, W Chhuanawma, representing ZPM, clinched victory, triumphing over MNF candidate Tawnluia in the Tuichang assembly segment.

Initial vote counts in Mizoram hinted at the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) taking a lead, securing a majority in the assembly. The latest data from the Election Commission showed ZPM leading in 28 assembly constituencies, while MNF was ahead in 7 seats. Meanwhile, the Indian National Congress (INC) led in one seat, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in three.

Vote counting for the 40-member Mizoram assembly commenced at 8 a.m. on Monday, revealing a competitive landscape among the major contenders: the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), the Congress, and the BJP.

Historically, Mizoram's political scene has been dominated by the Congress and MNF since gaining statehood in 1987. Notably, Zoramthanga, the President of MNF and Chief Minister, remains a key figure in this election.

The November 7 elections witnessed an intense battle between the ruling MNF and formidable opponents - the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), Congress, and BJP. ZPM emerged as the primary challenger, fielding Lalthansanga, the party's vice president, against the three-time Chief Minister in a bid for change.

Telangana Congress Delegation Meets Governor, Stakes Claim for Govt Formation

Mizoram Election Results 2023: ZPM Leads in Tawi and South Tuipui

PM Modi Hails BJP's Election Triumph in 3 States, Emphasizes Good Governance, Development

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group