Modi govt removes Congress' Shashi Tharoor as parliamentary panel chairman

New Delhi: The Central Government has removed Congress Lok Sabha MP Shashi Tharoor from the post of Parliamentary Committee Chairman. After which five members of the Standing Committee of Parliament, including a BJP MP, have jointly written a letter in this regard to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on Saturday (September 24). The members, in their letter, have requested that Shashi Tharoor be reinstated as the head of the Information Technology Committee.

At the same time, Tharoor has also reacted to the government's decision. He said, 'I am disappointed with the unusual decision of the government. Such intolerance harms parliamentary democracy.' Let us inform you that the Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has also written a letter to the Speaker, demanding respectful treatment for the main opposition party (Congress). Tharoor was the head of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the IT Ministry. Congress demands that if the government wants to keep the IT committee with itself, then it should be reinstated in the foreign affairs committee as it was with them till 2019.

Chowdhury, in a letter to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, pointed out that as per convention, the main opposition party should have at least one of the top four committees. The five people who jointly wrote letters to the Lok Sabha speaker include BJP's Anil Agarwal, CPM's John Brittas, Congress's Karti Chidambaram, TMC's Mahua Moitra and DMK's T Sumati. The letter reads that 'the allocation of the committee is generally made at the beginning of the new Lok Sabha and it remains so unless it is dissolved under some exceptional circumstances.'

Mann Ki Baat: PM Modi seeks suggestions on naming Cheetahs

Gehlot's MLAs and Ministers seen trying to get a place in Pilot's camp

'PFI violence was pre-planned, won't spare culprits..,' Kerala CM broke silence

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
News Track Live
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group