MP Assembly Election 2023: Key Contenders, Crucial Battlegrounds, and More
MP Assembly Election 2023: Key Contenders, Crucial Battlegrounds, and More

The Madhya Pradesh Assembly election of 2023 has commenced with prominent contenders like the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and Communist Party of India (Marxist) participating in the race. However, the main battleground in the Hindi heartland remains primarily between the BJP and the Congress.
Webcasting facilities have been set up in approximately 42,000 polling stations. To ensure security during the polls, around 700 units of central forces and 200,000 state police personnel have been deployed.

As the polling kicked off today for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly election 2023, here's a roundup featuring key contenders, constituencies, critical issues, and other pertinent details.

Why does the Madhya Pradesh election hold significance for both the BJP and Congress?
The Madhya Pradesh Assembly election bears critical importance as it unfolds just a few months prior to the Lok Sabha election in 2024. Madhya Pradesh contributes 29 Members of Parliament out of the total 543. While historically, Assembly elections haven't drastically affected the outcomes of Lok Sabha elections, the prevailing concerns such as rising prices and unemployment in the election states might provide insights into the prevailing public sentiment.

Who are the pivotal figures in the Madhya Pradesh polls?

The key players in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly election 2023 include Kamal Nath, Vikram Mastal, and Govind Singh from the Congress, and Kailash Vijayvargiya, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Narottam Mishra, and Ambrish Sharma from the BJP.

Crucial constituencies in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls

Several constituencies in Madhya Pradesh hold pivotal significance for the ongoing election, including Chhindwara, Indore-1, Budhni, Narsingpur, Lahar, and Datia.

Chhindwara: In the Chhindwara Assembly constituency, the former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath is directly contesting against Vivek Bunty Sahu of the BJP. Kamal Nath had emerged victorious in the 2019 by-election for this Assembly seat.

Indore-1: The Indore-1 Assembly constituency witnesses BJP's Kailash Vijayvargiya going head-to-head against Sanjay Shukla of the Congress. Sanjay Shukla secured victory in the 2018 election, but the constituency was traditionally dominated by the saffron party.

Budhni: In Madhya Pradesh’s Budhni seat, incumbent Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is the BJP's candidate, facing opposition from Vikram Mastal of the Congress. Shivraj Singh Chouhan had clinched victory in the 2008 election.

Narsingpur: Union Minister Prahlad Singh Patel from the BJP is contesting from Narsingpur after the party replaced his brother Jalam Singh Patel to target the OBC population. Lakhan Singh Patel from Congress stands against him in Narsingpur.

Lahar: Congress had previously secured Lahar in the 2018 Assembly election. Govind Singh, the 2018 winner, has been nominated again from the constituency. He is facing Ambrish Sharma from the saffron party.

Congress Leaders Stand United; Optimistic of Winning Rajasthan Polls: Rahul Gandhi

BJP Unveils Rajasthan Assembly Poll Manifesto; Emphasizes Commitment to Development

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News