IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians lost last five season-opening game
IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians lost last five season-opening game

The Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the Indian Premier League, winning 3 out of the 10 seasons of the popular league. Rohit Sharma has led MI to all three of their title wins and is the most successful captain in the history of IPL. The team has failed to repeat its winning performance in subsequent season openers. Though it has somehow managed to peak at the right time and has looked comfortable in the latter half of the tournament.

5. RCB vs MI- 2013

The series of defeats started in 2013, where the Mumbai Indians lost its first match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in a last over thriller. After RCB scored a challenging 156, thanks to Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 92 and Virat’s supporting knock, the Mumbai Indians needed 10 runs to win off the last over. Mumbai Indian lost the game by 2 runs.

4. MI vs KKR- 2014

In IPL-2014 opener two heavyweights - Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders were against each other at Abu Dhabi. Although a close contest was expected, KKR started with a thumping victory instead, clearly being the better team on the day. Mumbai Indians lost the game by 41 runs.

3. KKR vs MI- 2015

The Mumbai Indians batted first in the match, and aided by Rohit Sharma’s excellent knock ended up scoring 168, 5 more than what KKR had scored in the previous season’s opening encounter. The Knights won the match by 7 wickets with 9 deliveries left.

2. MI vs RPS- 2016

The two Maharashtrian teams opened their campaign in the next two seasons. Having failed massively while batting first, at one point even crossing the 100-run mark looked very difficult for the Mumbai-based franchise against the Rising Pune Supergiant. RPS won the match by 9 wickets with more than 5 overs to go.

1. RPS vs MI- 2017

Mumbai Indians even after scoring a match-winning total of 184 on the board, MI failed to defend the runs on the board and started once again on a losing note. RPS won by 7 wickets with just one ball left.

रिलेटेड टॉपिक्स
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group