P Chidambaram Criticizes AIADMK's Decision to Boycott Vikravandi By-Elections
P Chidambaram Criticizes AIADMK's Decision to Boycott Vikravandi By-Elections

Chennai: Senior Congress leader P Chidambaram on Sunday criticized the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) for abstaining from the Vikravandi assembly by-elections. He alleged that the party's decision was influenced by directives from higher authorities to boost the electoral prospects of the NDA candidate.

In a post on social media platform X, the former Union Minister emphasized the importance of the INDIA bloc ensuring the victory of the DMK candidate for the seat.

"AIADMK's decision to boycott the Vikravandi by-election is clear evidence that it has received instructions from the 'top' to facilitate the electoral chances of the NDA candidate (PMK). Both the BJP and AIADMK are fighting the battle through a proxy (PMK). The INDIA bloc must ensure the resounding victory of the DMK candidate," he said.

AIADMK announced its boycott of the Vikravandi Assembly constituency by-polls scheduled for July 10. The by-poll was necessitated by the demise of DMK MLA Pugazhenthi (71) in April this year.

Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) has announced that it will field C Anbumani as the NDA candidate for the by-polls from Vikravandi constituency. Notably, PMK had entered into an alliance with the BJP for the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

Tamil Nadu Bharatiya Janata Party Vice President Narayanan Thirupathy on Saturday said that the BJP has pushed the AIADMK to third position, adding that every party needs to fight in politics.

"It is very clear that BJP has pushed the AIADMK to third position. They all know that we are very strong and they are afraid that they will be exposed in these mid-term polls...As an opposition party, they should have contested this election. In politics, you need to fight. It is clear that you (AIADMK) have lost the will to fight," the BJP leader told the media.

Pugazhenthi, hailing from Athiyur Thiruvathi in Villupuram district, joined the DMK in 1973. He served as the chairman of Koliyanur Panchayat union in 1996 and was appointed as the Villipuram district president after state minister K Ponmudy stepped down from the post.

The DMK MLA contested the 2019 bypoll in Vikravandi following the demise of DMK's Radhamani but lost the seat. The party fielded him again in 2021 in which he defeated AIADMK's R Muthamilselvan.

Government Plans Digital India Bill to Combat Fake Videos and AI threats

Cow Smuggler Sufiyan Apprehended After Encounter in Muzaffarnagar

Poor performance, app freezes and what not! Know these things before installing iOS 18 beta version

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News