Prestigious moment: Sudha Murty gets felicitated with a doctorate by this university

Recently, a noted laureate got felicitated by Mysore University. The University on Monday awarded an honorary doctorate to Infosys Foundation Chairperson Sudha Murty for her stout enrichment to society and the nation. "Karnataka Governor and University Chancellor Vajubhai Vala awarded the doctorate to Sudha Murty from his Raj Bhavan office in Bengaluru through virtual mode," a university official told. Sudha (70) is the wife of Infosys co-founder NR Narayan Murty, and author of many books in English, Kannada and Marathi. The university also honored 30 students with gold medals during its centenary convocation at Crawford Hall in the campus.

Here's how Bengaluru Metro is operating in the new normal

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who directed the university's graduate students and faculty on the occasion, complimented Sudha and the medal-winning students remotely from New Delhi. "The century-old Mysore University has been doing 'vidya daan' to thousands of students who contributed to the nation's development. Second President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan taught at the university and guided the students," Modi said during his 35-minute speech in Hindi. Quoting noted Kannada litterateur Gorur Ramaswamy Iyengar's famous saying 'Shikshanave Jeevanada Belaku' (education is light of life), Modi said the memorable words had a lot of relevance even now.

No refusal of service for not having Aarogya Setu application

Wishing the people of Mysuru for Dasara, Modi spoke a few lines in Kannada and wished the graduating students who bagged degrees, gold medals and cash prizes. The Crawford Hall was sanitized before the event and seating arrangements were made for only 100 dignitaries, including 30 gold medal winners in view of the COVID-19-induced restrictions on large public gatherings to contain the pandemic spread. Set up in 1916, the university was the sixth across the country and the first in Karnataka. It was the sixth university in the country and first in Karnataka.

31 candidate contest in RR Nagar, SIRA constituency: Karnataka bypolls

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -