Prime Minister Modi Praises Baramulla Voters for High Turnout
Prime Minister Modi Praises Baramulla Voters for High Turnout

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has lauded the voters in Baramulla, a constituency in Jammu and Kashmir, for their impressive voter turnout during the recent elections. He noted that such active engagement is a positive sign for democracy.

On Monday, during the fifth phase of the seven-phase election, Baramulla saw a voter turnout of 55.79%, according to the Election Commission of India (ECI).

The Lieutenant Governor's office posted on X (formerly Twitter) expressing that the high voter turnout in Baramulla reflects the strong faith of the people in democracy.

"With over 58% voter turnout in Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency, it is heartening to see the people's determination and unwavering belief in democracy. I extend my gratitude to the people of Baramulla for their enthusiastic participation in this democratic process," the Lieutenant Governor stated on Monday.

Prime Minister Modi responded on Tuesday, praising the people of Baramulla for their steadfast commitment to democratic principles. "Congratulations to my sisters and brothers of Baramulla for their remarkable commitment to democracy. Such active participation is a wonderful trend," he tweeted.

The ECI's latest data revealed that Baramulla's 55.79% turnout is the highest recorded in the constituency over the past 35 years, spanning eight Lok Sabha elections. The main contenders in Baramulla include National Conference leader Omar Abdullah, JKPC leader Sajjad Lone, and PDP's Mir Mohammad Fayaz.

Historical voter turnout figures for Baramulla show a significant increase compared to previous elections: 5.48% in 1989, 46.65% in 1996, 41.94% in 1998, 27.79% in 1999, 35.65% in 2004, 41.84% in 2009, 39.14% in 2014, and 34.6% in 2019.

In the earlier fourth phase, held on May 13, Srinagar constituency also recorded a notable 37.99% voter turnout, the highest in decades.

This election is the first general election in the valley since the abrogation of Article 370 and the enactment of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are being conducted in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, with the counting and results set to be announced on June 4.

Deepshikha Deshmukh urges Young Women to vote: A message of Empowerment

Voter Turnout Peaks in Ladakh at 52%, Maharashtra Lags at 27% as of 1 pm, Updates Here

BSP Looks to Make a Comeback in Delhi Despite Shrinking Vote Share

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News