Tripura: EC announced for seat vacated by CM Manik Saha
Tripura: EC announced for seat vacated by CM Manik Saha

TRIPURA: The Election Commission (EC) of India has announced the dates for the by-poll for the Rajya Sabha seat vacated by Bharatiya Janata Party leader Manik Saha. This election will materialise on September 22. Manik Saha was elected to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura in April this year and his term Saha was named Chief Minister of Tripura by the BJP's high echelon just a few weeks after swearing allegiance to the Upper House of Parliament. Saha succeeded Biplab Deb as Chief Minister of Tripura on May 15 of this year. In a by-election held on June 26, 2020, Saha was chosen to represent the Town Bordowali seat in Tripura's legislative assembly.

Saha, a dentist by trade, left the Congress in 2016 and joined the BJP. In 2020, he was elected state president of the party. It would be crucial to watch who the BJP chooses to send from the state to the Rajya Sabha now that the vacancy has been announced by ECI.

Biplab Deb, a former chief minister, is no longer actively involved in the state government. Coincidentally, Deb had guided the BJP to a stunning win in 2018, ending the Communist Party's 25-year hegemony in the state.

The crucial northeastern state of Tripura is slated to hold Assembly elections the following year, and the BJP will confront the difficulty of dealing with a repeat administration with the state's new entry, Mamata Banerjee's TMC.

TMC removes Tripura president Subal Bhowmik

YAS Tripura recruitment process to end tomorrow, fill the form today

Sonia-Rahul filed an affidavit in the HC in Hate Speech case


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News