Visa: Zimbabwe first country to remove SADC visa requirement

Zimbabwe has become the first country to exempt all Southern African Development Community (SADC) Member States from visa requirements, taking the lead in the region as part of accelerated efforts to operationalise the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

Zimbabwe's Foreign Affairs and International Trade Minister Frederick Shava made the remarks in a statement, saying: "Regarding the implementation of the visa exemption among SADC Member States and the facilitation of free movement of SADC citizens within the region, I wish to highlight that Zimbabwe is the first and only country that has exempted all SADC Member States from visa requirements, other SADC Member States are undertaking internal processes to ensure that SADC citizens can travel freely in the region." African countries are relaxing visa rules for each other to boost trade and tourism facilitated by the historic free trade agreement, AfCFTA, ratified by African Union member states.

African Continental Free Trade Area is an African free trade area established in 2018 to create a single continent-wide market for goods and services and to promote the movement of capital and people. SADC is a regional economic community whose goal is to further regional socio-economic cooperation and integration as well as political and security cooperation among 16 countries in southern Africa, according to reports.

Japan announces fourth Covid state of emergency for Tokyo

Joe Biden revokes Trump proposal to time-limit student visas

SpiceJet: 42 new Flights to commence service between July 10 and July 30


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -