Vote Counting Underway for Telangana Assembly Elections
Vote Counting Underway for Telangana Assembly Elections

Hyderabad: The anticipation surrounding the 199 Assembly seats of Telangana, which underwent polls on November 30, has culminated as the vote counting process commenced on Sunday under stringent security measures.

As the counting progresses, the fate of 2,290 candidates representing 109 parties, including both national and regional entities, will unfold. A clearer picture of the results is expected to emerge by noon.

The outcome of the Assembly elections across four pivotal states—Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana—is poised to influence potential political dynamics that could surface in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Telangana's 119-member polling concluded on Thursday, marking the culmination of the voting process among the five states that underwent polls this month.

According to the Election Commission (EC), Telangana witnessed a 70.28 percent voter turnout during the November 30 assembly elections. The voting populace cast their ballots across 35,655 polling stations established throughout the state, with the majority mark set at 60.

Exit polls have indicated that the Congress is potentially on track to establish the government in Telangana, signaling a likelihood of the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) falling short of a majority after its decade-long governance in India's youngest state.

The BRS contested all 119 seats, while the Congress competed in 118, the BJP in 111, and the Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM in nine Assembly constituencies.

Incumbent Chief Minister and BRS founder, K Chandrashekar Rao, is contesting from two seats: his original constituency, Gajwel, and Kamareddy. In the 2018 elections, KCR secured victory in Gajwel by a margin exceeding 58,000 votes. This time, he faces opposition from BJP leader Etela Rajender in Gajwel and Congress state unit chief Revanth Reddy in Kamareddy.

Telangana minister K T Rama Rao is vying for re-election from the Sircilla seat, where he previously won by an impressive margin of over 89,000 votes in 2018.

Ahead of the vote counting for the assembly elections in Telangana, Bharat Rashtra Samithi leader Dasoju Srravan has expressed confidence in his party's prospects of returning to power.

Vote Counting Commences for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections: Former CM Raman Singh Asserts BJP's Strong Majority to Form Govt

Assembly Elections: Counting Set to Determine Fate of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group