WhatsApp has started rolling out the much-awaited 'View Once' feature. The pictures and videos the user send in get deleted from the chat after they have been opened. This feature aims to offer users, even more, control over their privacy.
This feature has come as an add-on for the privacy of users, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them once. "Media will not be saved to the recipient's Photos or Gallery. Once you send a view once photo or video, you won't be able to view it again," WhatsApp said. The feature has been rolled out to everyone starting this week. WhatsApp is looking forward to "feedback on this new way to send private and disappearing media". The company added, "As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them."
They will also be clearly marked with a new "one-time" icon. After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as "opened" to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time.