AIADMK's urban poll rout could lead to push for leadership change in Tamil Nadu

CHENNAI: The AIADMK's rout in the Tamil Nadu urban local body elections will almost certainly result in a push for a leadership change. Former Chief Ministers O. Panneerselvam and Edappadi K. Palaniswami are currently leading the party.

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) won nearly half of the seats in the 2011 urban local body elections, but only 15% of the seats in the elections held after an 11-year interval.

On February 19, a total of 12,838 seats in 21 corporations, 138 municipalities, and 489 town panchayats were up for election in the Urban local body elections. The AIADMK has won 164 corporation councillor seats (11.94%), 638 municipal ward seats (16.80%), and 1,206 town panchayat seats, according to the State Election Commission (15.82 per cent).

Since losing in the 2019 general elections, the AIADMK has lost in the 2020 rural local body elections, 2021 Assembly elections, and 2021 rural local body elections in the nine new districts of Tamil Nadu, as well as the heavy beating it took in the February 19 urban polls.

DMK maintains its dominance and gains ground in western Tamil Nadu.

AIADMK leader urges Stalin to oppose 'Away from Reactor' facility in Kudankulam

UP elections: Mayawati voted, said - Muslims will not vote for SP"

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -