Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray elected unopposed to Council
Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray elected unopposed to Council

Mumbai: Elections were to be held on May 21 on 9 vacant seats of the Legislative Council in Maharashtra. But now it will not be needed because 3 candidates have withdrawn their names. After which now only 9 candidates were left in the field. For this reason, Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray has been elected unanimously as a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Council.

Let us tell you that Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as the CM of the state on November 28, due to which it became mandatory for him to be elected a member of either House of the Assembly or Legislative Council. Because the time period of 6 months was about to end. Let me tell you that the deadline to withdraw his name from the election ground was only till 14 May. This is the reason that today additional candidates withdrew their names, due to which the need for elections has also ended.

Of the 9 members who have been elected unopposed in the Maharashtra Legislative Council, two are from Shiv Sena, two from NCP, one from Congress and four from BJP. Maharashtra CMs Uddhav Thackeray and Neelam Gorhe from Shiv Sena, Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari from NCP and Ramesh Kard from Congress have been elected to the Legislative Council.

Also Read:

America is groaning due to Corona, yet Trump wants to start school

Next pandemic may come from Amazon's rain forest, researchers cautious

Australia fires China over Corona, calls for international investigation

Dangerous storm in the Philippines amid Corona crisis


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News