Congress President Kharge Expresses Confidence in Winning 5 State Elections
Congress President Kharge Expresses Confidence in Winning 5 State Elections

Kalaburgi-Karnataka: Mallikarjun Kharge, the President of the Congress Party, expressed confidence in his party's prospects for victory in the upcoming elections in five states, all scheduled for next month. He pointed out that there is a growing anti-incumbency sentiment against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), especially in Madhya Pradesh. The assembly elections are set to take place in Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram, either in a single phase or over two phases, during the month of November.

The election dates are as follows: Mizoram on November 7, Chhattisgarh on November 7 and November 17, Madhya Pradesh on November 17, Rajasthan on November 25, and Telangana on November 30. The counting of votes is scheduled for December 3 in all of these states.

Kharge confidently asserted, "Congress is making solid preparations for the elections in these five states, and we are optimistic about winning in each of them. The BJP is facing the brunt of anti-incumbency, primarily due to concerns related to inflation and unemployment." He specifically highlighted the shift in sentiment against the BJP in Madhya Pradesh.

Kharge also took the opportunity to criticize the BJP at the national level, accusing them of failing to fulfill any of their election promises. "The BJP has not kept any of its commitments, whether it's related to unemployment, doubling farmers' income, or attracting investments," he claimed.

During his visit to his hometown of Kalaburgi in Karnataka, Kharge alleged that the Central government is neglecting Karnataka, stating, "No central projects are being allocated to Karnataka."

In the upcoming elections, the Congress and the BJP will be the key contenders in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan, while Telangana is expected to witness a triangular contest involving the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, Congress, and the BJP.

In the Madhya Pradesh Assembly, which has 230 seats, the Congress secured 114 seats with a vote share of 41.5% in the 2018 elections, while the BJP won 109 seats with a vote share of 41.6%. However, the Congress government lost its majority in 2020 after some MLAs considered loyal to Jyotiraditya Scindia resigned and later joined the BJP, resulting in the BJP taking power with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as the Chief Minister.

Rajasthan, with its 200 seats, saw the Congress nearly clinch a majority in 2018 by winning 99 seats. The party formed the government with the support of BSP and independent MLAs, securing a vote share of 39.8%, and Ashok Gehlot became the Chief Minister. In the same elections, the BJP won 73 seats with a vote share of 39.3%.

In Telangana, the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) secured 88 out of 119 seats and a vote share of 47.4% in the 2018 elections. Congress came in a distant second with 19 seats and a vote share of 28.7%.

The Congress made a significant impact in Chhattisgarh in the 2018 elections, winning 68 out of 90 seats in the state assembly and attaining a vote share of 43.9%. The BJP secured 15 seats with a vote share of 33.6%.

In the 2018 polls, the Mizo National Front secured 26 out of 40 seats in the Mizoram assembly with a vote share of 37.8%, emerging as the victor. Congress managed to secure five seats, while the BJP won one seat.

As the assembly elections approach, political parties have been actively preparing, with their leaders addressing rallies and making promises to the people.

MP Assembly Elections: AAP's State President, Rani Agarwal, Contesting in Singrauli Constituency

BJP Announces First List of Candidates for Telangana Assembly Elections

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News